top of page

WAITING TO START: permission for much-needed rest

It used to be that I was filled with passion- bursting full of joy in my heart and determined purpose. It was overwhelming in the best way possible. In recent months, though, I've mellowed out. I've wondered: Should I be starting something? Where is my motivation to move forward? Shouldn't I be pushing something? Shouldn't I have that passion back? Have I lost something in myself? In my time with God today I was led to Isaiah 41. In fact, for the past couple days I've been reading Isaiah 41- different parts at a time. And a verse in it gave my heart so much rest and peace. "Quiet down, far-flung ocean islands. Listen! Sit down and rest, everyone. Recover your strength." (Isaiah 41:1 MSG) And my heart was given permission to rest. And for the first time in a while I realized how tired I am spiritually. How much I truly needed that last part- permission to "recover [my] strength." To not have to press on.

Pressing on is respected. Waiting to start is wise. Pressing on feels good. Waiting to start revives my soul. Waiting on the Lord renews my strength. And until He gave me permission in His word this morning to rest, I would have continually felt guilty for not pressing on. There are moments where I feel a pressure- to continue. To make progress. To press. To push something forward that isn't already propelling itself in my mind. To manufacture and push on.

God doesn't require us to push unless He tells us to. (Check out this awesome post from Peter Lundell that has given my heart a lot of rest.)

"“Who did this? Who made it happen? Who always gets things started? I did. GOD. I’m first on the scene. I’m also the last to leave.” (Isaiah 41:4 MSG)

If He wants something to happen, He is more than able to start it.

And then He’s also responsible for finishing it. He’s a starter and a finisher. What a great combination to have on our side!

(Note: Him “starting it” might still look like Him telling you to be brave and do something, but at least the command to start came from HIM and not from a wondering, uncertain place within us.)

He is in control. He knows when it’s time to start. And, if we’re listening and obedient, everything will start right on time. And finish just the same.

Pushing forward makes my heart feel tired. It's unsustainable. And contradicts the Spirit of God in me. "True to your word, you let me catch my breath and send me in the right direction." (Psalm 23:3 MSG). I happen to be in the catching my breath stage. And He calls it good.

SUBSCRIBE
YOU WON'T WANT TO MISS THIS

FOLLOW @MADE.blog

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

WE NEED YOU

YEAH WE DO, YEAH WE DO

RECENT POSTS

bottom of page