top of page

GOD DOESN'T HUSTLE and neither should we

The word “hustle” has been popular lately.

I’m a fan of responsibility.

I’m a fan of doing work that’s good and fulfilling.

I’m a fan of working hard.

But “hustle”… not so much.

“Hustle” has a sense of forward motion that’s only propelled from behind. Something that isn't naturally propelled.

When I think of “hustle,” I think, “Keep up.”

Self-reliant determination.

Unholy striving.

As the body of Christ, unholy hustle isn't what we're called to. We are called to good works, but my hustle… my hustle has been lacking lately.

And there’s probably a reason for it.

Because I wasn’t made for hustle.

“13 for it is God who works in you to will and to act according to His good purpose.” (Philippians 2:13)

Before that, Paul says to work out our salvation with fear and trembling.

There are quite a lot of things in my life that I feel a pressure to “hustle” about, whereas the only thing I’m called by Jesus Christ to do is to act according to His purpose.

The will of man is not the will of God.

If the hustle for something isn’t oozing out of my pores, and if God says that He’ll provide the motivation to act according to His purpose, then maybe what I’m trying to hustle for isn’t His purpose.

Maybe I need to wait. And rest. And see. And the motivation will come.

There is a horrible temptation in our world to just start trying to do things and propel them forward and make them work… in our own strength.

But our God works differently. He’s not a God of “hustle to make everything work out.” He’s a God who reminds me that seeds take time to grow. And that fruit comes seldom and suddenly and lasts for only a while.

He reminds me that some seasons are planting seasons,

Some seasons are growing seasons,

And some seasons bear abundant fruit.

God has planted dreams in my heart, and for the past few weeks I’ve been wondering where the motivation is to actually do those dreams.

So this morning I asked Him about it- why I was lacking motivation. You know what He said?

“Let the ideas grow.”

Good things take time to grow.

Ideas grow in our heart.

And hustle can’t make our ideas root any deeper in our hearts. Hustle actually just uproots them.

So is there a good thing that God is starting in your life?

Avoid the hustle with all that is within you. He has planted something in you. Just let it grow.

The ways of God are not the way of the world.

And our God is most certainly not in any hurry.

He wants fruit that lasts. And that type of fruit takes time.

 

Here are 5 verses that will fight the hustle in you:

Ephesians 2:8-10

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith - and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God - not by works, so that no one can boast. For we are God's workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

Psalm 1:2-3

But his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night. He is alike a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither.

Micah 6:8

He has showed you, O man, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.

Matthew 6:31-33

"So do not worry, saying, 'What shall we eat?' or 'What shall we drink?' or 'What shall we wear?' For pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well."

SUBSCRIBE
YOU WON'T WANT TO MISS THIS

FOLLOW @MADE.blog

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon

WE NEED YOU

YEAH WE DO, YEAH WE DO

RECENT POSTS

bottom of page