top of page

A Season of Clarity

I’ve heard it all over. And I’ve felt it myself. I feel like this time is a time for redefining priorities.

When everything is stripped away you’re reminded of what you really want.

It’s a struggle. But with a benefit.

Lately there’s been a push in my life. To remove things that aren’t what I really want and need. To hunker down. Find support. Remember what’s core and what’s important. Have you been feeling it too? Like a pulse to do what matters again. Whatever that looks like.

There are dreams I’ve had that have resurfaced. Ideas of who I should be and wanted to be that have been clarified… some stripped away. A new stage.

A new stage.

Does it feel scary?

Quite a bit.

Enlivening?

Of course.

By all means not easy.

But it feels like the good type of scary. You know, when you’re in that healthy place doing things that are good for you and you know they’re good because they’re challenging. That’s where I am right now.

Gaining strength.

Season by season.

More clarity coming.

I don’t know what causes me to get stuck in “life fogs” like I do. You know, those times when you’re just doing things and they don’t really align with what I want. (I’m going to call that a life fog). You just sort of coast through and it all feels hazy.

I vote for not feeling hazy.

Somewhere from season to season I think it’s easy to lose intentionality. To forget that I shape my own day. And that there is a God who actually has a plan for my day and wants me to partner with Him in it. The plan might be as simple as enjoying it, or it might include something else. But all that to say… it’s easy to forget the possibility in the day and just coast.

Life fog.

But recently I’ve realized something beautiful. And I’ve heard so many of my friends who have realized the same thing.

I don’t have to do things I don’t want to do.

And the corollary- I can do what I want to do.

(With prayer/wisdom ;)

We have a lot more power to do what we’re called to do and made to do in the day than we let ourselves think.

So why do we get stuck in the fog?

I remember I used to run.

Not literally. But in life. I would just run toward whatever is next. And I’m going to embrace that again.

It’s not reckless.

It’s streamlined.

It’s purposeful.

It’s intentional.

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us…” – Hebrews 12:1

Right before this verse, the writer spends a whole chapter talking about the centuries of Christian/Jewish forefathers of faith- people who had amazing faith. And then we come to this verse, saying,

“Since we have this amazing example, let’s run

It’s almost in my mind a “what are we doing? Let’s do this.

I want to live life like that.

Since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, take the example of their faith, and run. Live the life God called you to live.

And if you don’t know what that is, spend time getting real close to Him and just ask Him.

This feels like a season of cutting away.

Cutting away the crap that gets in the way of us doing what we’re meant to do. Living life intentionally again. Have you been feeling that way?

We simply can’t live a disingenuine life anymore.

Life fog over.

And it’s so refreshing.

So God, we come to you asking for humility and grace as we run. That each day You would just fix our eyes on You. Whatever YOU have for us in a day, that’s what we want for ourselves. So we ask that You would give us wisdom each day. Wisdom to run. Wisdom to rest. Wisdom of when to be alone and when to be with others. And when to spend extra time with You. Give us grace for the race of life and show us Your rhythms for the day. We trust beyond a doubt that You are with us. We love you.

Featured Posts
Follow Us
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Amazon - Black Circle
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page